The beginning

Founded in 2001 as "Innovative Internet Computing Systems" in Ilmenau by Thomas Böhme and Herwig Unger, the I2CS takes place regularly every year in the third week of June.

On the international way

The first conference outside of Germany took place in Mexico in 2004. Again, it was Herwig Unger, who made this important step possible. The change in the name from "computing" to "community" reflects perfect its understanding as a workshop of exchange between people from different countries, from universities, research institutes and industries.

Via France and Switzerland it returned to Germany. From now on, alternately an international and a German location is selected by the steering committee to arrange the three-days event which has reached the status of an international conference.

From the Antilles the I2CS will come back over 7500 km to its origin, Thuringia, the green heart of Germany. For the first time by "Tradition meets innovation" the I2CS is given a special motto.

The tenth I2CS has held for the first time in Asia, in Bangkok, Thailand. Up to now, it is the most far away from Germany, "Research drives Innovation" was the motto of the 11th I2CS which held in Berlin/Germany.

From Germany, once again abroad, in 2012, I2CS was has held in Norway with the special motto "Future Requires Interdisciplinary". In 2013, I2CS returned to Hagen in Germany.

No Year Country Place Local Chairs Local URL Website
1st 2001 Germany Ilmenau Thomas Böme
Herwig Unger
2nd 2002 Germany Kühlungsborn Herwig Unger
Thomas Böhme
3rd 2003 Germany Leipzig Gerhard Heyer
Herwig Unger
4th 2004 Mexico Guadalajara Herwig Unger
V.M. Larios Rosillo
5th 2005 France Paris Alain Bui
Marc Bui
6th 2006 Switzerland Neuchâtel Peter Kropf
Pascal Felber
7th 2007 Germany Munich Ulrike Lechner
Achim Dannecker
8th 2008 Martinique Schoelcher Hacène Fouchal
Philippe Hunel
9th 2009 Germany Jena Christian Erfurth
Gerald Eichler
10th 2010 Thailand Bangkok Phayung Meesad
Herwig Unger
11th 2011 Germany Berlin Gerald Eichler
Axel Kupper
12th 2012 Norway Trondheim Leendert W. M. Wienhofen
Gerald Eichler
Anders Kofod-Petersen
13th 2013 Germany Hagen Herwig Unger
Thomas Böhme
Gerald Eichler
14th 2014 France Reims Gerald Eichler
Christian Erfurth
Hacène Fouchal